Vans BMX Pro Cup Guadalajara Pro Tour Finalists Decided

Vans BMX Pro Cup Guadalajara Pro Tour Finalists Decided

 Defending Vans Pro Cup Guadalajara Event Winner Jason Watts Leads Men’s Semi-Finals

Local Guadalajara Riders Pabel Marquez and Netzer Parada Advance into Tomorrow’s Pro Cup Finals

 Regional Qualifying Advancers Cooper-Ellis, Espinoza and Torres Secure Invites to Series World Championships in Spain this September


Jason Watts

Jamie Cooper-Ellis

Guadalajara, MEXICO (August 25, 2018) – Vans BMX Pro Cup, the world’s leading platform for elite BMX park terrain competition, kicked off in Guadalajara, Mexico today for the third Pro Tour stop of the 2018 season to determine the final contenders for tomorrow’s men and women’s penultimate event. Powering through a hand injury, defending Vans Pro Cup Guadalajara event winner Jason Watts rose to the top of the men’s semi-final rounds with his signature manuals and back-to-back tricks to qualify first. USA’s Matt Cordova captured the judge’s attention by executing massive airs and one-of-a-kind transfers throughout the course to qualify second while 2017 Guadalajara event Best Line award winner Jamie Cooper-Ellis surpassed today’s heavy lineup to qualify third, after securing a first-place finish and a World Championship invite in yesterday’s regional qualifiers event.

Dominating the women’s prelims, Tour Pro Angie Marino’s high speed and big airs granted her the first-place qualifying position, followed closely by the women’s current series points leader Teresa Azcoaga, who will be battling the 2017 Vans Pro Cup Guadalajara event winner and third place qualifier Nina Buitrago for a third consecutive podium win of the season.

The top nine women from today’s semi-final rounds advance to tomorrow’s final event and the top ten men’s semi-finalists will join the ten current series point leaders tomorrow, August 26, for the third and final stop of the Vans BMX Pro Cup world tour preceding the series’ World Championships.

Jason Watts

Matt Cordova

Cauan Madona

Parker Heath

Pabel Marquez
Luis Medina

Top 10 Advance to Tomorrow’s Pro Tour Finals

  1. Jason Watts
  2. Matt Cordova
  3. Jamie Cooper-Ellis
  4. Cauan Madona
  5. Parker Heath
  6. Pabel Marquez
  7. Netzer Parada
  8. Andres Gatica
  9. Ronnie Napolitan
  10. Corey Bohan
  11. Luis Medina
  12. Daniel Rosales
  13. Jose Torres
  14. Jairo Espinoza
  15. David Peraza
  16. Aaron Simone
  17. Manuel Gatica
  18. Victor Munoz
  19. Michael Mogollon
  20. Anthony Napolitan
  21. Brad Maple

Pro Cup Results: Semi-Final


Angie Marino

Teresa Azcoaga
Nina Buitrago, Jesse Gregory, Angie Marino, Tania Torres Reyes


Top 9 Advance to Tomorrow’s Pro Tour Finals

  1. Angie Marino
  2. Teresa Azcoaga
  3. Nina Buitrago
  4. Jesse Gregory
  5. Macarena Perez
  6. Margarita Valenzuela Meraz
  7. Michelle Gomez
  8. Dayana Lopez
  9. Tania Torres Reyes
  10. Wendy Lara
  11. Ariana Montoya
  12. Nidia Mena
  13. Luciana Rougier

Women’s Results: Semi-Final

Pre-seeded to Tomorrow’s Pro Tour Finals

Larry Edgar               USA
Dennis Enarson        USA
Alex Hiam                 AUS
Sergio Layos             ESP
Kevin Peraza            USA
Boyd Hilder               AUS
Corey Walsh             CAN
Matty Cranmer          USA
Gary Young              USA
Kris Fox                    USA



RQ Mexico: Jose Torres (3rd place) , Jamie Cooper-Ellis (1st place), Dan Foley (2nd Place)

Jamie Cooper-Ellis 

Dan Foley

Jose Torres

Jairo Espinoza

Daniel Rosales

Manuel Gatica



  1. Jamie Cooper-Ellis, Secured World Championship Invite
  2. Dan Foley
  3. Jose Torres, Secured World Championship Invite
  4. Jairo Espinoza, Secured World Championship Invite
  5. Netzer Parada
  6. Luis Medina
  7. Daniel Rosales
  8. Manuel Gatica
  9. Michael Mogollon
  10. Oscar Marquez
  11. Isaac Cortes
  12. Tomas Fuentes
  13. Brenden Wirkus
  14. Dilan Pinedo
  15. Bruno Ismael
  16. Leonardo Portillo
  17. Brad Maple
  18. Abdiel Osuna Ortega
  19. Isaac Marquez
  20. Javier Islas
  21. Antonio Merino
  22. Armando Lopez
  23. Jorge Raigoza
  24. Josue Castillo
  25. Rafael Cervantes
  26. Noah Miranda
  27. Angel Cuevas

Regional Qualifier Mexico Results:
Final  Semi-Final


Vans BMX Pro Cup Series

Mexico Schedule
Sunday, August 26

Vans BMX Pro Cup Women’s Pro Tour

Vans BMX Pro Cup Men’s Pro Tour

Photos by Rob Dolecki
Check out the photo galleries and videos at

Instagram: @vansbmxprocup