Vans BMX Pro Cup Descends Upon Guadalajara, Mexico for Penultimate 2018 World Tour Stop

Vans BMX Pro Cup Descends Upon Guadalajara, Mexico for Penultimate 2018 World Tour Stop

Watch Vans Global BMX Team Rider Kevin Peraza’s GoPro Course Preview Now!

Guadalajara, MEXICO (August 23, 2018) – The Vans BMX Pro Cup lands in Guadalajara, Mexico August 24 – 26 at the famed Montenegro Skatepark to kick-off the third and final stop of the world tour preceding the series’ World Championships. 2017 Guadalajara event winner Jason Watts will utilize his diverse BMX talents to defend his title against elite Tour Pros Kevin Peraza, Dennis Enarson, Sergio Layos and current series point leader and reigning 2017 Vans BMX Pro Cup World Champion Larry Edgar.

“Watts won in Guadalajara last year by packing his runs with a variety of tricks,” states Vans BMX Pro Cup Event Organizer, Dennis McCoy. “Look for him and the other Tour Pros to really mix things up in Mexico this year.”

In the women’s division, series rookie Teresa Azcoaga will fight for a third consecutive podium win against 2017 event winner and women’s BMX pioneer Nina Buitrago and top women’s Tour Pro contender Angie Marino.  

Home to the renowned Montenegro Skatepark, the city of Guadalajara supports the prominent local BMX scene with one of the best park terrain courses in the country. Located amongst an illustrious community park, the Montenegro Skatepark’s wide-open course features numerous hips, extensions, a spine, a stepdown, wallrides, a sub-box and multiple various sized bowls that provide riders endless line possibilities and transfer selections. Watch the GoPro course preview with Vans Global BMX Team Rider Kevin Peraza here!

With only two qualifying opportunities left in the season, the Guadalajara Vans BMX Pro Cup will kick-off with a regional qualifier tomorrow, August 24. Open to eligible men and women pro BMX riders, the top seven regional qualifier finalists from tomorrow’s event will automatically advance to the Pro Tour semi-finals this Saturday, August 25 and the top three regional qualifier podium winners will join the 2018 Tour Pro roster, in addition to a coveted invite to the official Vans BMX Pro Cup World Championships in Málaga, Spain on September 22.

Vans BMX Pro Cup Series 2018 Tour Pros:
Larry Edgar               USA

Dennis Enarson        USA
Alex Hiam                 AUS
Sergio Layos            ESP
Kevin Peraza            USA
Boyd Hilder               AUS
Corey Walsh             CAN
Matty Cranmer          USA
Gary Young               USA
Kris Fox                     USA
Jason Watts              AUS
Corey Bohan            AUS
Matt Cordova            USA
Parker Heath            USA

Vans BMX Pro Cup Mexico Qualifiers & Invitees:
Aaron Simone          USA

Andres Gatica          CHL
Anthony Napolitan   USA
Brad Maple              USA
Brandon Loupos      AUS
Cauan Madona        BRA
David Peraza           USA
Jamie Cooper-Ellis  USA
Pabel Marquez        MEX
Ronnie Napolitan     USA
Victor Munoz            CHL

Vans BMX Pro Cup Women’s 2018 Tour Pros:
Teresa Azcoaga      ESP
Angie Marino           USA
Perris Benegas       USA
Nina Buitrago          USA
Macarena Perez      CHL
Jesse Gregory         USA

Vans BMX Pro Cup Series

Mexico Schedule

Friday, August 24
Vans BMX Pro Cup Regional Qualifier – OPEN TO MEN & WOMEN REGISTRANTS

Saturday, August 25
Vans BMX Pro Cup Women’s Pro Tour

Vans BMX Pro Cup Men’s Pro Tour


Sunday, August 26
Vans BMX Pro Cup Women’s Pro Tour

Vans BMX Pro Cup Men’s Pro Tour


The Vans BMX Pro Cup series debuted in 2017 as the world’s definitive platform for BMX park terrain competition, showcasing the most talented BMX athletes from across the globe. The Vans BMX Pro Cup kicks off its second season in Sydney, Australia as the series embarks on a four-stop world tour, concluding with the crowning of the 2018 Vans BMX Pro Cup World Champion in Málaga, Spain. For more information on competition format, locations, athletes and sanctioning, please visit


@vansbmxprocup on Instagram