2018 Vans BMX Pro Cup Series Brings World Championships to Málaga, Spain September 21 – 23

2018 Vans BMX Pro Cup Series Brings World Championships to Málaga, Spain September 21 – 23

Current Series Score Board Leader Larry Edgar to Defend World Championship Title

 Sergio Layos Withdraws from Competition Due to Injury

 Final Vans Pro Cup Series Regional Qualifier Friday, September 21

Los Angeles – Sunday, September 23, 6AM PDT
Málaga – Sunday, September 23, 3PM CEST

Costa Mesa, CALIF. (September 11, 2018) – In just under two weeks, the Vans BMX Pro Cup World Tour will culminate in Málaga, Spain for the series’ World Championship grand finale on September 21 – 23 to crown the official 2018 Vans BMX Pro Cup men’s and women’s World Champion. Series regional advancers prepare to battle for the coveted world title against the current top-ranked Vans BMX Pro Cup Tour Pros at the legendary El Málaga Skatepark. Following an exciting world tour through Chile, Australia, U.S., Mexico and now Spain, the industry’s leading BMX riders will meet for one final decisive battle to determine the 2018 Vans Pro Cup World Champions and establish next year’s Tour Pros roster.

Dominating the men’s field, defending 2017 Vans BMX Pro Cup World Champion and first-ranked Tour Pro Larry Edgar will fight to uphold his title against seasoned podium winners including back-to-back Huntington Beach event winner Dennis Enarson, two-time Mexico event winner Jason Watts, and Pro Cup veterans Kevin Peraza and Gary Young. With Sergio Layos out of the World Championship title race, rising stars from Australia, Alex Hiam and Boyd Hilder have climbed up the series scoreboard, emerging as a major threat to the leading tour contenders.

 In the women’s division, series points leader and Spanish rider Teresa Azcoaga will compete against USA’s Angie Marino, women’s BMX pioneer Nina Buitrago and Chile’s star talent Macarena Perez for the women’s first-ever Vans BMX Pro Cup World Champion title. See below for a full list of competitors.

Leading into the Pro Cup’s World Championships, the last Vans BMX Pro Cup regional qualifier will take place on Friday, September 21. Open to eligible men and women pro BMX riders, the top three podium winners from Friday’s regional qualifier will advance to the World Championship semi-finals on Saturday, September 22.

Pre-seeded to World Championship Finals
Larry Edgar               USA
Alex Hiam                 AUS
Dennis Enarson        USA
Boyd Hilder               AUS
Jason Watts              AUS
Kevin Peraza            USA
Gary Young              USA
Matty Cranmer          USA
Kris Fox                     USA
Corey Walsh             CAN

Vans BMX Pro Cup World Championship Qualifiers & Wildcards:
Matt Cordova             USA
Pat Casey                 USA
Chase Hawk             USA
Douglas Oliveira       BRA
Parker Heath             USA
Kevin Kalkoff             FRA
Ryan Saville              AUS
Shane Ellis                AUS
Cody Pollard             AUS
Chris James              AUS
Alex Leibrock              USA
Rim Nakamura          JPN
Paul Thoelen             DEU
Maxime Charveron    FRA
Corey Bohan             AUS
Tom Van Den Bogaard  NLD
Jamie Cooper-Ellis   USA
Jose Torres               MEX
Jairo Espinoza          MEX
Cauan Madona         BRA
Andres Gatica           CHL
Netzer Parada          MEX
Pabel Marquez         MEX
Tyler Fernengel        USA
Tom Dugan               USA
Brandon Loupos        AUS

Pre-seeded to World Championship Finals
Teresa Azcoaga        ESP
Angie Marino             USA
Nina Buitrago             USA
Macarena Perez        CHL
Perris Benegas          USA
Jesse Gregory           USA

Vans BMX Pro Cup Women’s World Championship Qualifiers & Wildcards:
Hannah Roberts          USA
Nikita Ducarroz           CHE
Minato Oike                 JPN
Margarita Valenzuela Meraz MEX
Dayana Lopez             MEX
Anahi Valentina Arevalo ECU
Lara Lessman            DEU


Vans BMX Pro Cup Series – Spain Schedule

Friday, September 21
Vans BMX Pro Cup Regional Qualifier

Saturday, September 22
Vans BMX Pro Cup World Championship – Men’s and Women’s

Sunday, September 23
Vans BMX Pro Cup World Championship – Men’s and Women’s


The official 2018 Vans BMX Pro Cup World Championships will broadcast live on September 23 from Málaga, Spain on www.vansbmxprocup.com. To see the full list of 2018 results, information on how to watch the BMX park terrain World Championships on live webcast, and for more information on athletes, tour highlights, photos, videos and more, please visit Vans BMX Pro Cup online.

Instagram: @vansbmxprocup