Larry Edgar and Teresa Azcoaga Crowned 2018 Vans BMX Pro Cup Series Champions in Málaga, Spain

Larry Edgar and Teresa Azcoaga
Crowned 2018 Vans BMX Pro Cup Series Champions in Málaga, Spain

 Edgar Claims Back-to-Back Pro Cup World Championship Titles

Azcoaga Crowned First-ever Women’s BMX Park Terrain Champion

 Chase Hawk and Perris Benegas Win Málaga Vans BMX Pro Cup


MÁLAGA, Spain (September 23, 2018) – The 2018 Vans BMX Pro Cup World Championships celebrated a monumental finish as the series crowned Larry Edgar and Teresa Azcoaga the 2018 world champions of BMX park terrain in Málaga, Spain, earlier today. Defending Vans BMX Pro Cup World Champion Larry Edgar demonstrated some of the best BMX riding the world has ever seen with colossal airs and technical tricks to earn back-to-back Pro Cup World Championship title wins. Spanish native Teresa Azcoaga upheld her series lead to earn the first-ever women’s BMX park terrain championship title, cementing a historic moment for the BMX community.

Edgar remarked with pride, “The level of riding across all stops this year has been incredible, so to be the overall winner is truly special.”

Larry Edgar and Teresa Azcoaga – 2018 Vans BMX Pro Cup World Champions

In the main event finals, 2017 Vans Pro Cup Málaga event winner Chase Hawk prevailed yet again with steadfast bike control throughout Rubén Alcántara’s park to take home his second Málaga victory. Dennis Enarson tracked close behind, putting down a huge tail whip transfer into the vert wall to secure a second-place finish, in addition to taking the Best Trick award. In third place, Corey Walsh showcased ingenuity, unlocking some of the course’s most unique lines paired with enormous back-to-back transfers to earn the Best Line award.

USA’s Perris Benegas revealed the day’s most powerful riding for the women’s division, ruling the course with speed and grace to claim her first Pro Cup podium win, while Spain’s front-runner Teresa Azcoaga turned up the heat in her last run to clench second place and the overall series championship title. Pro Cup newcomer Lara Lessman maintained her semi-finals momentum, surpassing the stacked field with advanced tricks and big airs to place third.

“I’m completely blown away, I can’t believe I won the world championship title,” Azcoaga gratefully expressed. “To go from only riding my local park one year ago, to winning the series is a dream.”


Chase Hawk (1st place), Corey Walsh (3rd place), Dennis Enarson (2nd place)


  1. Chase Hawk
  2. Dennis Enarson
  3. Corey Walsh            
  4. Gary Young
  5. Boyd Hilder
  6. Larry Edgar
  7. Pat Casey
  8. Kevin Peraza
  9. Matt Cordova
  10. Alex Hiam

HIGH AIR – Alejandro Vela
BEST TRICK – Dennis Enarson with his huge double whip transfer into the vert wall
VANS BEST LINE – Corey Walsh with his massive back-to-back transfers

Full Results: Final
2018 Series Point Standings

Chase Hawk

Dennis Enarson

Corey Walsh

Gary Young

Larry Edgar

Pat Casey

Matt Cordova

Alex Hiam

Kris Fox

Jayden Mucha

Cody Pollard

Corey Walsh – Best Line winner

Dennis Enarson – Best Trick winner w/ Gary Young, Jason Watts and Boyd Hilder



  1. Perris Benegas
  2. Teresa Azcoaga
  3. Lara Lessmann
  4. Nina Buitrago
  5. Nikita Ducarroz
  6. Anahi Valentina
  7. Hannah Roberts
  8. Jesse Gregory
  9. Angie Marino         
  10. Lotta Gruber

BEST TRICK – Perris Benegas with her huge toboggan transfer
Full Results: Women’s Final
2018 Women’s Series point Standings


Perris Benegas

Teresa Azcoaga

Lara Lessman

Nina Buitrago

Nikita Ducarroz

Angie Marino

Anahi Valentina

Perris Benegas – Best Trick winner

Ruben Alcantara Skatepark Malaga

The Vans BMX Pro Cup Series, the definitive platform for BMX park terrain competition, capped off an extraordinary international world tour with the culmination of crowning two new World Champions in Málaga, Spain. To see the full list of 2018 results and more information on competition format, locations, World Championships recap, season highlights and more, please visit

The Vans BMX Pro Cup series debuted in 2017 as the world’s definitive platform for BMX park terrain competition, showcasing the most talented BMX athletes from across the globe. The Vans BMX Pro Cup kicks off its second season in Sydney, Australia as the series embarks on a four-stop world tour, concluding with the crowning of the 2018 Vans BMX Pro Cup World Champion in Málaga, Spain. For more information on competition format, locations, athletes and sanctioning, please visit

Photos by Colin Mackay
Check out the full photo galleries and videos at

@vansbmxprocup on Instagram